How long is class? Typically class lasts 4 hours but can be as long as 5 hours
Do I need to pre-register for the class? For the Anchorage classes you do NOT need to pre-register, just show up 15 - 30 minutes prior to class start time for registration in the classroom. Bring valid picture ID and something to write with. Outside of Anchorage you will want to verify with the instructor on their class check-in procedures.
How much does class cost? In Anchorage the TAP class is $55. Employees of CHARR members receive a $15 discount and pay $40. The fee to renew without taking a class is $60 for non-members and $45 for members. Outside of Anchorage you will need to check with the local instructor on the cost. All instructors offer CHARR Member discounts. The Anchorage office accepts cash, check, or debit/credit cards as payment.
I lost my card, do I have to go to class again? No, you can obtain a duplicate card from the CHARR Office for $20. You can do this with a credit card over the phone, through the mail with check or money order (be sure to include a contact phone number, address and LEGIBLE copy of your ID) or in person at the CHARR office.
Is there a test? Yes. There is a test at the end of the class and you must receive an 85% to successfully pass the course. (87% for renewal testing. Who is required to take the class? Anyone involved in the sale of alcohol in any way, including servers, bartenders, security, managers, owners and retail clerks. Do I have to be 21 years old to take the class? No. However you must be 21 to receive a TAP® certification. Students should try to make arrangements to attend a class after their 21st birthday.
Is there a grace period on getting my card? Yes. There is a 30 day grace period FOR NEW HIRES ONLY, unless you are working in Anchorage, in which case there is no grace period. Within the Municipality of Anchorage you must have your TAP card prior to serving or selling alcohol. You may not let it expire and still work
Do I have to wait to receive my certification card? No. Unlike other alcohol certification classes, which make you wait up to a month after completing class, your TAP® card is issued immediately upon successfully completing the certification exam.
Is there a shorter class for renewals? The law allows those who have previously attended an alcohol server education course in Alaska to renew their certification by passing an exam to show an understanding of course subjects. The renewal needs to be done within 6 months of your original card expiring. The Anchorage office allows renewals anytime Monday through Friday 9am to 4pm. Please contact your local instructor for outside the Anchorage area.
Is my card from another state valid in Alaska? No. Alcohol server training is state specific as state laws vary a great deal.
Can I have a TAP Card if I have a DUI? There is no law prohibiting those with DUI's from having a TAP card.
TAP Class Information
Pre-Registration is not required. Please arrive 10-15 minutes before scheduled class for registration.
Valid identification is required for all classes.
Class fee is $40 for CHARR members and $55 for non-CHARR members. (Prices may vary outside of Anchorage and tax is NOT included in the prices)
Renewal certification available at the CHARR office Monday through Friday 10:00am to 4:00pm. Renewal pricing is $60 for non-members and $45 for members.
Outside of Anchorage an additional fee for non-members or local taxes may apply. Class dates are subject to change. Private training and certification is available, certain restrictions apply. Please contact the instructor in your area or the Alaska CHARR office at 274-8133 for more information.
Statewide TAP Instructors
Anchorage Edward Canfield, 907.274.8133/907.317.9253 Denali Kyle Houghton, 907.978.8780 Please call instructor for class schedule and information Fairbanks Terry Shepard, 907.590.1574 Renewal certification testing available following scheduled classes (at approx. 8:30pm). Homer David Ahlberg, 907.231.6504 Renewal certification is available 1 hour prior to regularly scheduled classes. Ketchikan & Craig Russell Beal, 907.220.6101 Please contact instructor for renewals King Salmon Pauline McClain, 907.469.0729 Please contact instructor for renewals Kodiak Sandra Coasch, 907.942.1245 Renewals begin 30 minutes prior to class. Mat-Su Michele Shapiro, 907.830.1858 Renewals are available following regularly scheduled classes. Skagway Dan Zeiman, 907.612.8002/612.219.2717 Please contact instructor for class dates and renewals. Soldotna David Ahlberg, 907.231.6504 Renewals are available 1 hour prior to regularly scheduled classes. Talkeetna Michele Shapiro, 907.830.1858 Pre-registration required for Talkeetna classes.
Copyright Alaska CHARR. All Rights Reserved. 1503 W. 31st. Ave. Suite 102 | Anchorage, Alaska 99503 Phone: 907-274-8133 Fax: 907-274-8640 Email: firstname.lastname@example.org